YEARS OF SERVICE AWARDS

FIVE YEARS OF SERVICE

Dylan Frentzel; Edward Pohl; Jordan Mitchell; Jonathin Horsley; Michael Loya; Jonathan McGary; Valentina Lewis; Kami Bryant; Katherine Burgesser; Mark McConnell; Ricky Zamora; Nicholas Apodaca; Vanessa Aguirre

TEN YEARS OF SERVICE

Christopher Smith; Aaron Suazo; Danny Byler; Laken Humble; Rob Smith

FIFTEEN YEARS OF SERVICE

Wilhemina Martin, Manny Sanchez

TWENTY YEARS OF SERVICE

Alex Mares; Richard Reed; Valerie Russ

TWENTY-FIVE YEARS OF SERVICE

Victoria Gurule; Toby Velasquez

THIRTY YEARS OF SERVICE

Mark Leyba; Robert Apodaca

NM State Parks Fiscal Year 2024 Awards Ceremony



Our annual Awards and Recognition Ceremony provides us with the opportunity to recognize outstanding performance by members of our team. The nominees are selected by their peers through a nomination process that includes input from all Regions and the Santa Fe Office. It is an honor to be able to recognize individuals committed to the mission of the Division.

The mission of the New Mexico State Parks Division is to protect and enhance natural and cultural resources, provide first-class recreational and education facilities and opportunities, and promote public safety to benefit and enrich the lives of visitors.

GOVERNOR'S AWARD

The Governor's Award, State Parks' most prestigious award, recognizes an employee who performs duties in a superior manner and exemplifies, in attitude and action, those traits most desired in the Division.

Nominees: Erica Baker; Arthur Benavidez; Scott Chalmers; Austin Franzoy; Terri Fresquez; Jared Langenegger; Armando Martinez Jr.; Edward Pohl; Kari Richards; Robert Stokes; Chris Vigil

SECRETARY'S AWARD

The Secretary's Award recognizes the fulltime employee who performs duties in a superior manner and exemplifies those traits most desired in maintaining the administrative functions of a park and recreation system.

Nominees: Vanessa Aguirre; Arthur Benavidez; Terri Fresquez; Joseph Fleming; Jared Langenegger; Armando Martinez Jr.; Allison Moore; Edward Pohl; Kari Richards; Chris Smith; Robert Stokes

DIRECTOR'S AWARD

The Director's Award recognizes an employee at any job level who has set and meet high standards and who have sustained a high-level of performance when doing the job.

Nominees: Erica Baker; Erika Balderrama; Arthur Benavidez; Shannon Campbell; Jorge Chavez; Joseph Fleming; Austin Franzoy; Terri Fresquez; Jason Gonzalez; Victoria Gurule; Laken Humble; Jared Langenegger; Armando Martinez Jr.; Heather Molleur; Allison Moore; Edward Pohl; Kari Richards; Robert Stokes; Chris Vigil

EXEMPLARY PARK AWARD

The Exemplary Park Award is the annual recognition of one park and its staff who have contributed significantly to the Department's goals and objectives. Any park whose staff performs its duties in a superior manner and exemplifies those traits most desired in Division employees and sustains this high level of performance throughout the year is eligible for this award.

Nominees: Conchas Lake; Manzano Mountains; Pancho Villa; Sumner Lake; Rio Grande Nature Center; Santa Rosa Lake; Sugarite Canyon

CUSTOMER SERVICE AWARD

The Customer Service Award recognizes employees who exemplify the principals of customer service towards fellow employees, park visitors and the general public. This year, we are honoring three dedicated employees.

Nominees: Vanessa Aguirre; Arthur Benavidez; Colleen Bynon; Scott Chalmers; David Crosby; Robert Kane; Armando Martinez Jr; Jon McGary; Esequiel Rivera; Manny Sanchez

LIFE SAVING AWARD

Life-Saving Awards are the annual recognition of any employee, permanent or temporary, who has directly contributed to saving or attempting to save a life.

Nominees: Erica Baker; Mark Brown; Austin Franzoy; Marc Jimenez; Gabe Medrano; Salvador Gonzalez; Austin Wilson

RANGER OF THE YEAR AWARD

The Ranger of the Year award is the annual recognition of a certified and commissioned park officer in good standing, at any job level, who performs duties in a superior manner and exemplifies, in attitude and action, those traits most desired in a Division officer.

Nominees: Ken Abalos; Erica Baker; Austin Franzoy; Laken Humble; Marc Jimenez; Manny Sanchez

VOLUNTEER AWARD

The volunteer award is the annual recognition of a volunteer who has made a significant contribution to the Division.

Nominees: Eugene and Shirley Calhoun; Jorge Chavez; Scott Costigan; Carol Dostert; Robert Fisher; Margie Holtom; Robert Kane; Wendy Kane; Doug and Laura Reed; Samuel Schropp; Christine Small; William & Theresa Valliere; Emery & Kelly West

PARTNERSHIP AWARD

The Partnership Award is the annual recognition of a citizen or organization that has made a significant contribution to the Division.

Nominees: Bureau of Reclamation; Rio Grande Nature Center Friends Group; Samuel Schropp